Make your own Photo Canvas….

I posted this on my photography blog and thought I’d post it here too for the crafty blog followers!!

Those of you who are addicted to Pinterest may have already seen these but I thought I’d share in case there are a “few” people that may not have seen them.  Anyway, I saw a tutorial on Pinterest but did not save it since I was not a member at the time but I do remember the instructions on how to do it and it seemed so easy!  If anyone knows about the tutorial, let me know and I will definitely give proper credit!!!

The tutorial I saw taught you how to make a canvas using scrapbook paper, Mod Podge and a photo.  I did try one with the scrapbook paper but didn’t like it as much as I did when I painted the edges.  Not only that, painting the edges was REALLY quick…..gluing scrapbook paper to the sides was not.  Anyway, here is an 8×10 black and white photo of my daughter.  I told you I had my pictures printed before I learned how to remove annoying objects from a photo HERE.

So, what I did was buy a 2 pack of canvas’ from Walmart.  I think it ran about $7 for 2.  I used Matte Mod Podge and a sponge brush.  The paint is just black matte acrylic paint.   I first painted the sides and on top, about an inch in on all sides, and let it dry.  I then painted the entire front of the canvas using a foam brush and Mod Podge.  I did a thin enough layer so that you could see it but it was not in puddles.  I then laid my photo on top, turned it over on a clean piece of paper and kept smoothing the center out to the sides.  I then turned it back over and wiped any excess Mod Podge from the sides and then smoothed the sides.  I flipped it back and forth a few times to make sure it was glued down tightly.

The final step, after you let it dry really well, was to paint a layer of Mod Podge on the front of the photo.  The key to this is to paint in 1 direction so I would paint my first layer top to bottom.  I tried to keep the swipes straight but that didn’t always work out so well.  After this layer dried, I painted another layer side to side.  I did do one last layer top to bottom and actually think I will do one more side to side to add more texture.  Here is a picture of the texture.  Keep in mind that you cannot see the texture from afar.  You have to be closer as you would with any canvas.

Here is a picture of the one I did with a picture of my son

Here is a picture of the painted side

I am doing 6 of this size and will do smaller ones as well.  I am thinking the 8×10 canvas, photo, paint and Mod Podge MAYBE cost me $5 per canvas.  Of course you don’t have to do black and white.  I think color would be beautiful and you can paint the canvas any color so that it will coordinate with your photo.

Thanks for stopping by!

Lynda

This entry was posted in Tutorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make your own Photo Canvas….

  1. This is a great technique! I’m going to have to try this!

Leave a Reply

